Featuring the Comic Book Creations of Writer/Cartoonist Mark Oakley!
tk_banner
rubel_on_rooftop


What is, Thieves & Kings?/

“Thoroughly engrossing self-published black-and white fantasy saga. [. . .] This is a story for fans of Bone, Elfquest, Nausicaa, or Harry Potter to fall in love with; highly recommended for teen and adult fantasy readers everywhere.”

   -The Library Journal

Learn about Mark Oakley and his work!

pages
Read a 25 page
sample chapter!





Mark’s Free Web Comic!

Bite-size tales about Galactic Princess Ashelle hiding on Earth.
Read it here every two weeks!

Email Me!


or write to. . .

I Box Publishing
#1 - 614 Main St.
Wolfville, NS  B4P 1E8
Canada



RSS News Feed RSS News Feed

 

*Cost of Postage Included
(For ordering more than one item,
please use buttons on far right.)

Within Canada
$16.60 CAD

To U.S.A.
$20.50 CAD

International
$28.50 CAD


 

 
    News From the Studio. . .
pen_ink

Drawing Jenny's House
 

February 26, 2017


Jenny's house is really cool to picture in the imagination but actually bringing it into reality is making me a bit cross-eyed. It's a serious pain in the neck to draw!
It's also one of those environments where important scenes take place not infrequently, and where it's all entirely made up from mental imagery. -Where what I really need is a 3D model, or failing that, to fly back to Toronto and find a suitable house and photograph it from every conceivable angle a dozen times.
The observant reader will notice that Jenny's front steps undergo constant subtle architectural changes throughout the course of the story.
Life would be so much easier with a Gerhard in it. Probably.

More   
 
 
    Jenny Mysterious. . .
Read the latest stuff before everybody else. Become a Patron!

Mar 3rd, 2019
New Pages posted - 269 to 271
I've decided to publish the long-talked about Jenny Mysterious free on-line, with new pages every week, starting right now! BUT I am asking folks to become Patrons. Please support my comics with as little or as much as you choose with a monthly subscription, (even just a dollar would be fine!). It's really easy. See my Patreon page for details.

-Check out the cool perks!

Thanks everybody!


webcomic Jenny Mysterious by Mark Oakley www.iboxpublishing.com
    

Please Vote! (You can vote for both Jenny and Stardrop without conflict.) Thank-you!
    New: Reader's Art!


More   
 
 
    StarDrop. . .
stardrop banner

Connect with me on Facebook!
STARDROP



Please become my Patron! It's super-easy; see Patreon to find out how. -Now, don't worry; everything will remain free to read here, (many of my readers do not have credit cards, after all). But I'm a full-time cartoonist and I need to pay the bills. There are hundreds of folks reading, so those who are able, please consider chipping in with as much or as little as you choose. Even a buck a month would be a blessing! Those of you who have already extended your support, oh my goodness, Thank-You! It literally means the world to me!

Also.., Jenny Mysterious is now LIVE and will have regular weekly updates! Yessss! Been a long time coming. Jump to her section below. Thanks everybody!

New Episode #280 - Next Episode, Thursday April 6th
webcomic Stardrop by Mark Oakley www.iboxpublishing.com

                        

 


Digital Editions Now Available


"High Resolution For Tablets!"
$8.25 CAD
Download Stardrop Volume 1    Download Stardrop Volume 2

-No DRM -No Hassles -Super High Quality -Whole Books with all the extras!

Technical note: I'm using a new sales system for this which doesn't require all kinds of complicated filling out of forms and such. The back-end magic is worked by Gumroad, an awesome new on-line system designed just for digital content; easy payment, reliable delivery, no mucking around. -And holy smokes! They play fair, taking 5% + 25 cents per transaction. Are you paying attention Apple and Amazon? This is how it's done.


NEW! Stardrop eBook
Now Available!

(See the Studio News (below) for the scoop on this!)



Tip StarDrop's cartoonist!

Visit the Australian StarDrop Mirror.
(Thanks to Andrew and Katherine for their wonderful support over the years!)

More   
 
 
    I Box Comic Book Reviews. . .
ibox_audio

From the Drawing Board

Tuesday, April 9th ~ 2019

The Culture War isn't Because of Millennials..?

This post is a response to the video maker:

(TL;DW The message of the video was this: Millennials are no different than anybody else and are not the cause of the culture war.)

~~~~~

Damn! That's a great insight! Easily the most important one I've seen presented in weeks. Shoot. We've needed this one since this whole Millennial thing began.

PewDiePie is a pretty good example of a Millennial personality archetype, (I'd argue that his popularity indicates a generally accurate mirror of all the people who resonate with him). He's not an unbearable activist snowflake. The one major difference I'd point out between him and people of my generation may have to do with a result of screen time and the internet and the effects on cognition; whatever the cause, he and his viewers seem to have a much higher per-moment processing speed. The cutting and lateral jumps in his videos are very fast.

Otherwise, he is a lot like David Letterman in terms of media significance, style and cynicism, (though I'd say he's a lot kinder and more compassionate than Letterman, but that may be simply an isolated personality trait. Everybody at the time pretty much conceded that Letterman was a bit of a dick.)

However.., there IS *something* going on.

Activist culture is insane right now, the "Safe Space" "Trigger Warning" "Denounce Critics" thing appears to be entirely real, and it hit like a brick out of nowhere, as if somebody punched the "Start" button on some social engineering program. We nearly went full gulag back in 2016/17. -I mean that quite seriously; people have accused me of hyperbole, but in 2017 I genuinely felt and saw fear in people around me in ways I'd never seen before and it really seemed likely that some version of a Stalinist/Maoist type cultural apocalypse was beyond avoidance, -rather than today, where a somewhat balanced fight is taking place and where I feel some confidence now that we can come back from the edge. It feels like the Liar's Revolt blew its main charge and is now just in the process of thrashing and spending the remainder of its (still vast) energy ineffectively and is being managed and mopped up by cooler prevailing heads. But it really did seem likely that it was going to overwhelm society at the time.

They began hammering the world, co-opting multiple disparate social groups which had been groomed into paranoid frenzies, corralling them behind a single effort and provided them, (like a weapons salesman) with the full weight of a mature, nihilist philosophical system which was loaded with a dozen or so killer mind-tricks nobody had ever encountered before, all designed to trap people into thirsting for violence.

The movement stunned the regular populace and took a couple of years for normal people to unpack and see the tricks and game theory behind. If things had gone just a little further during that 'stunned' period where normal people didn't push back, if just a few more decent people had been publicly denounced or had shown just a little less backbone, if judges and police had been a little bit more intimidated by outrage mobs, I can easily see innocent people being jailed for thought crimes, accelerating us past the tipping point; a cascade effect of virtue signaling and shame mobs, -and violent ANTIFA groups gaining political power. Hyperbole? No sir. We were damned close.

It was eerily similar to the playbook used by the CIA when they want to start wars in other countries. Can the blame be pinned to a single generation? Partly perhaps, but I think there was something else going on.

One thing which bothered me all along, and this comes back to the insight you offer in this vid.., I don't think we can lay all of that at the feet of the Millennial generation, because many of the people pushing it in the media are simply not of the right age. In fact, some of the worst offenders are in their 40's and up. That always struck me as discordant with the reigning theory blaming 20-somethings.

Anyway, this is a long comment post and nobody reads these things except in smaller channels where competition for attention is much lower. (Only 64 comments at the time of my typing this). It's weird how the most relevant discussions can only happen in small groups.

Okay. Your channel can explode now.

Cheers!

-Mark Oakley

More   
 
 
    Neat Stuff Mark Found on the Web. . .
Connect with me on Facebook!
Mini Mysterious Theater. . .

JEN:
Jenny Mysterious!!!
 
JENNY MYSTERIOUS:
"Hey rockstar!"
 

 
scene 1 scene 2

Close   
 

Click on a book cover to learn more about it!

Over-Seas customers, please inquire about shipping costs.


Read the back cover

The Red Book Vol.1
(154 Pages)
cover price: $18.95
ISBN 0-9681025-0-6
Pay: $15.00 CAD  


Read the back cover
The Green Book Vol.2
(260 Pages)
cover price: $24.75
ISBN 0-9681025-1-4
Pay: $20.00 CAD
OUT OF STOCK!


Read the back cover
Introducing... The NEW VOLUME 1
Contains both the old RED and GREEN books!
(412 Pages)
$27.95 CAD

(Orders from outside Canada and the U.S. use this page please!)


Read the back cover
The Blue Book Vol.3
(184 Pages)
cover price: $24.75
ISBN 0-9681025-2-2
Pay: $20.00 CAD   

Read the back cover
The Shadow Book Vol.4
(272 pages)
cover price: $24.75
ISBN 0-9681025-3-0
Pay: $20.00 CAD   

Read the back cover
The Winter Book Vol.5
(208 pgs)
cover price: $24.75
ISBN 0-9681025-4-9
Pay: $20.00 CAD   

Read the back cover
Apprentices, Book I
Thieves & Kings Vol.6
(104 pgs)
ISBN 0-9681025-6-5
Pay: $15.00 CAD
~OR~
Download Tablet Version
$8.25
Read the back cover
Thieves & Kings presents. . ,
The Walking Mage
64 pgs      ISBN 0-9681025-5-7
Full Color

$11.00 CAD

Listen to Sample Tracks
Thieves & Kings presents. . ,
Riverwolf
Music from Oceansend

$15.00 CAD


Stardrop
(192 pgs)
ISBN 978-0-9681025-7-2

$12.95 CAD


Stardrop Vol 2
"A Place to Hang My Spacesuit"
(208 pgs)
ISBN 978-0-9681025-8-9

$12.95 CAD



Stardrop Vol 3
"Home in Time"
(208 pgs)
ISBN 9781926496054

$12.95 CAD


ePub

The Stardrop Graphic Novel now available for eReaders!
Kindle, iPad, Android and other devices.
$4.95


To finalize a PayPal purchace or just see what you've ordered so far, click the "View Cart" button

Shipping Charges explained.