Webcomics and Graphic Novels, Fantasy and Sci-Fi by Mark Oakley!
tk_banner
rubel_on_rooftop


What is, Thieves & Kings?

“Thoroughly engrossing self-published black-and white fantasy saga. [. . .] This is a story for fans of Bone, Elfquest, Nausicaa, or Harry Potter to fall in love with; highly recommended for teen and adult fantasy readers everywhere.”

   -The Library Journal

Learn about Mark Oakley and his work!

pages
Read a 25 page
sample chapter!





Mark’s sci-fi Web Comic!

Stardrop! Featuring the space Princess Ashelle living on Earth.
Bi-weekly webcomic!

Email Me!


or write to. . .

I Box Publishing
#1 - 614 Main St.
Wolfville, NS  B4P 1E8
Canada


RSS News Feed RSS News Feed


I'm listening to...

music player link
Custom playlist by Faellii - (Thanks!)


Articles of Note:

I Will Not Hate Because You Want Me To


Response to Amazon and Kindle Direct Publishing


Art Software Review - OpenCanvas 6


Why Facebook is an unreliable tool for the Self Publisher


Three Questions from a Beginner Cartoonist


Comics in the New Media ~ How to Publish Comics on Tablets and eReaders Without Getting Ripped Off


Mark at the Movies:Superman, Man of Steel. Propaganda to dim the spirit and fan your fears.


Mark at the Movies: What do, Mirror Mirror, Hunger Games and Cabin in the Woods all have in common? More than you think!


Drawing Democracy


365 Days of Digital Cartooning - Drawing Comics on a Tablet PC


UPDATED!
Tablet button bar Button for Photoshop / PaintTool Sai / MangaStudio5


Photoshop CS4 vs CS5 Speed Comparison for Tablet PC


Photoshop Speed-Up Trick for Digital Art


Portable Drafting Board - Drawing Comics Outdoors

 

   Stardrop. . .
 
 
   Jenny Mysterious. . .

First Day Back

Webcomic Jenny_Mysterious by Mark Oakley www.iboxpublishing.com

 
 
   Thieves & Kings. . .

Sample Chapter from, Thieves & Kings, Volume 3, "The Blue Book"

Thieves & Kings, page from the graphic novel series by Mark Oakley www.iboxpublishing.com

Thieves & Kings is not a webcomic. It is an all-ages fantasy/adventure graphic novel series which I've been working on since 1994. It is nearly done; I hope to wrap up the story in the 7th volume, (currently in production). The chapter featured here offers a good example of what it's like to read Thieves & Kings. --It's a peppy sequence, and it contains both regular comic pages, and some text pages. It doesn't show much of the title character, (Rubel) and none of the Shadow Lady, but Heath and Varkias carry the show quite nicely. I hope you enjoy this sample of my work!

 
 
   The Walking Mage. . .

The Walking Mage webcomic #2 - Fired

The Walking Mage is a complete story. Originally it was done in black & white, (which you can check out here, if you like). I wanted to experiment with color and so began by using a computer to color the Walking Mage for its print release. After a few panels I decided that it would be a lot more fun to paint it by hand, and so switched to water-color around episode six.

The story itself is quite a good little yarn; funny and pointed in many places, as political satire ought to be. I was actually quite surprised to learn this! I found myself laughing out loud in several places. --I don't know why this story in particular was so hard for me to accept, but it was. I avoided reading it for several years after it first went to press. The ending is rather abrupt, but it was a serial strip, after all.

So anyway, after having let this web-comic languish in the digital attic, I've decided to pull it out and post it again for all the world in its full-color glory. This is the first time the Walking Mage has been available in full color on the web. I hope you enjoy the adventures of Quinton and Varkias. Cheers!

 
 
   News From the Studio. . .
Publishing Jenny...
 

Monday,
February 16, 2015

So, I have a question for everyone...

I've got a whole slew of Jenny Mysterious pages and I've been trying to work out how best to release them.

I'm trying to come to grips with the various methods of doing this; we live in the digital age now, and while I do intend to produce a graphic novel with Jenny's material, I'm looking at other ways to publish.

I've made Stardrop a free webcomic, and that's been fine because each episode earns $50 when it runs in the local paper. Also, a few of you have surprised me by using the tip jar (Thank-you, btw!), and I'll sell a few GN's here and there. So that model works fairly well to keep the project running.

But with Jenny Mysterious, I was looking at www.patreon.com

The idea is that people would become patrons, kind of like Kickstarter, but in a much smaller bites and in an easier to manage way. Every time I put up a page or a chapter or whatever, patrons would automatically contribute a small amount, a dollar or two. That way, as soon as I complete a section of the story, it would pay for itself.

So a few questions...

Is this a good idea for you? Would you be interested in this method? How many pages at a time should I release and how much is a reasonable amount to ask for? Should pages be available to everybody or just to patrons?

If enough people sign on board, this could be a good reason to set aside a few days every week for production as opposed to what I'm doing now, (drawing when the mood strikes.)

Please use the I Box Facebook thread to let me know your thoughts. (I'll leave it as the top post for a while.)

Cheers!

 
 


 

Click on a book cover to learn more about it!

Over-Seas customers, please inquire about shipping costs.

-Otherwise, I'll ship via sea mail; costs about half and takes 4-8 weeks. Thanks!

Read the back cover

The Red Book Vol.1
(154 Pages)
cover price: $18.95
ISBN 0-9681025-0-6
Pay: $15.00 CAN  


Read the back cover
The Green Book Vol.2
(260 Pages)
cover price: $24.75
ISBN 0-9681025-1-4
Pay: $20.00 CAN  

OUT OF STOCK!

Instead receive all the back-issues which went into this volume for the same price.


Read the back cover
The Blue Book Vol.3
(184 Pages)
cover price: $24.75
ISBN 0-9681025-2-2
Pay: $19.99 CAN   

Read the back cover
The Shadow Book Vol.4
(272 pages)
cover price: $24.75
ISBN 0-9681025-3-0
Pay: $20.00 CAN   

Read the back cover
The Winter Book Vol.5
(208 pgs)
cover price: $24.75
ISBN 0-9681025-4-9
Pay: $20.00 CAN   

Read the back cover
Apprentices, Book I
Thieves & Kings Vol.6
(104 pgs)
cover price: $15.00
ISBN 0-9681025-6-5
Out of Print
Read the back cover
Thieves & Kings presents. . ,
The Walking Mage
64 pgs      ISBN 0-9681025-5-7
Full Color

$11.00 CAN

Listen to Sample Tracks
Thieves & Kings presents. . ,
Riverwolf
Music from Oceansend

$19.99 CAN


Stardrop
(192 pgs)
ISBN 978-0-9681025-7-2

$10.00


Stardrop Vol 2
"A Place to Hang My Spacesuit"
(208 pgs)
ISBN 978-0-9681025-8-9

$12.95


NEW!

The Stardrop Graphic Novel now available for eReaders!
Kindle, iPad, Android and other devices.
$4.95


To finalize a PayPal purchace or just see what you've ordered so far, click the "View Cart" button

Shipping Charges explained.